Sweeting swipes spot for Alberta Scotties final

Val Sweeting at the 2015 Meridian Canadian Open in Yorkton, Sask. (Anil Mungal)

Val Sweeting stole a point in the 10th end to edge Chelsea Carey 5-4 and swipe a spot in the Jiffy Lube Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts final in Calgary.

Sweeting, of Edmonton, is now one win away from capturing her third consecutive provincial title.

It was a back-and-forth affair in Saturday’s A vs. A page playoff with Sweeting snapping a 1-1 by scoring a single in the fourth end and adding a steal of one in five to grab a two-point lead. Carey bounced back taking a point in six and stealing two in seven to pull ahead 4-3.

Sweeting settled for another single in eight to tie it and Carey blanked the ninth to retain the hammer coming home.


Provincial Curling Championships: Live Scores & Playoff Brackets | TV Schedule


The Edmonton-based team of Sweeting, third Lori Olson-Johns, second Dana Ferguson, and lead Rachel Brown finished with a 3-0 record in the A-side of the triple knockout, qualifying by beating Carey 8-3 in the bracket final Thursday night. Carey took two for the win in the 10th end to slip past Shannon Kleibrink of Coaldale 5-4 during the B qualifier Friday night.

Carey and her Calgary-based crew featuring third Amy Nixon, second Jocelyn Peterman, and lead Laine Peters still have a second shot at reaching the final as they face Edmonton's Jessie Kaufman in the semifinal.

Kaufman defeated Nadine Chyz of Calgary/Red Deer 7-3 in the C vs. C match.

Watch the semifinal Sunday live on Sportsnet ONE at 11:30 a.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. MT with the final set at 4 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. MT also on Sportsnet ONE.