Fans Get On-the-Button Coverage of the Players’ Championship, April 17-20 on Sportsnet

TORONTO (April 15, 2014) The best curlers in the world are ready to rock one more time, as Sportsnet and the Grand Slam of Curling take fans to picturesque Prince Edward Island this week for the Players’ Championship – the fourth and final event of the 2013-14 season. Sportsnet’s broadcast coverage of the event begins Thursday, April 17 at Noon ET/9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet ONE, live from Eastlink Arena at Credit Union Place in Summerside, PEI (full broadcast details below).


Attracting curling heavyweights from around the world, the Players’ Championship features 24 premier men’s and women’s teams competing in a round robin style bonspiel for a combined purse of $200,000.


Following an outstanding season for Canadian curling, Summerside will welcome fan-favourites and curling icons to the ice, including Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games gold medallists Team Jones and Team Jacobs, the 2013-14 men’s Grand Slam of Curling leader Team Howard, and women’s Masters winner Team Homan – who will look to clinch an additional $100,000 bonus awarded to the women’s team who can win both Grand Slam events of the season.


Sportsnet’s curling experts will be at the heart of the action in Summerside, with Rob Faulds handling the play-by-play alongside 1998 Olympic silver medallists and former teammates Mike Harris and Rich Hart, and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker.


Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. In addition to the Players’ Championship, the 2013-14 series also included The Masters (Abbottsford, BC), Canadian Open (Medicine Hat, AB) and the Syncrude National (Fort McMurray, AB). Tickets for the Players’ Championship can be purchased online here.


Talent Interviews:

Sportsnet’s curling talent are available for interviews to discuss the Players’ Championship.


Social Media Links

Official website, Sportsnet

Like Sportsnet on Facebook

Follow Rob Faulds @SNFaulds

Follow Mike Harris @mikeharriscurls

Follow Rich Hart @UR09

Follow Joan McCusker @joaniemccusker

Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR


The Players’ Championship Broadcast Schedule

Thursday, April 17

  • Round Robin, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Round Robin, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
  • Round Robin, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

Friday, April 18

  • Round Robin, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
  • Round Robin, 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario West and Pacific)
  • Round Robin, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Saturday, April 19

  • Women’s Quarter-Finals, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Quarter-Finals, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and
  • Men’s and Women’s Semifinals, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)

Sunday, April 20

  • Women’s Final, 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
  • Men’s Final, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)


About Sportsnet
Sportsnet connects Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes, using five platforms: TV, Radio, Print, Online and Mobile. Sportsnet is Fuelled By Fans, and delivers storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level. The multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet,, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet magazine, Sportsnet Mobile and the Hockey Central app on iPad and Playbook.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet World, and Sportsnet 360. Sportsnet is the Canadian leader in NHL and MLB television broadcasts and is home to 162 Toronto Blue Jays games, plus MLB Playoffs and the World Series.  Sportsnet is an official licensed broadcaster of the 2014 FIFA World Cup BrazilTM and also offers an exciting sports lineup including the NFL, the Memorial Cup, CIS Vanier Cup, Ultimate Fighting Championship®, Grand Slam of Curling, IndyCar, the Rogers Cup tennis tournament, and extensive soccer programming including Barclays Premier League, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, CONCACAF and Canadian national team matches for men and women. Connected is the network’s nightly news program, providing regional and national coverage of the day’s events in the world of sports.