Edmonton to host 2010 Grey Cup

September 13, 2009, 4:30 AM


EDMONTON — The 2010 Grey Cup has been awarded to the Edmonton Eskimos, Sportsnet has learned.

The decision will keep the CFL championship game in Alberta for the second consecutive year. This year’s game will be played at Calgary’s McMahon Stadium.

League officials were wary of having the Grey Cup in the same province for two consecutive years, but with B.C., Toronto and Montreal each having played host to the title game since 2005, there is a concern the other stadiums in the league – Hamilton, Winnipeg and Saskatchewan – are not in good enough to stage the 98th Grey Cup without major modifications.

However, sources tell Sportsnet that few modifications will be needed to Commonwealth Stadium, where the game will be played. McMahon Stadium will have approximately 10,000 temporary seats installed for the 2009 contest.

The CFL declined to comment on the report other than to say an announcement on the 2010 Grey Cup is “forthcoming.” The Eskimos also would not comment, saying the Grey Cup is a CFL property.

The city of Edmonton has hosted the Grey Cup on three previous occasions, the last one being the 90th edition on Nov. 24, 2002. The Eskimos lost that game to the Montreal Alouettes, 25-16. Commonwealth Stadium was also site of the championship game in 1997 for the 85th Grey Cup (Argos 47, Riders 23) and in 1984 for the 72nd Grey Cup (Bombers 47, Tiger-Cats 17).


Latest CFL Videos
Collaros & Mitchell facing building pressure
2:35 | Nov 25, 2014