Dyson faces hearing for DQ at BMW Masters

Simon Dyson leads after the first round. (Michel Euler/AP)
October 31, 2013, 10:17 AM

VIRGINIA WATER, England — Simon Dyson faces a disciplinary hearing over his disqualification for a rules violation last week at the BMW Masters.

Dyson was marking his golf ball on the eighth green at Lake Malaren in the second round when he quickly used the ball to tamp down the green in direct line of his short par putt. It was a clear violation of Rule 16-1a, which says a player cannot touch the line of his putt.

A television viewer noticed the infraction, and rules officials met with Dyson the next morning. He was tied for second, four shots out of the lead. Dyson was disqualified for not adding the two-shot penalty to his scorecard.

Under tour policy, a player faces a disciplinary hearing if it is determined after further study that a serious breach may have occurred. The hearing is to be within three weeks before a panel of an independent lawyer, a sports administrator and either a former European Tour player or a European Senior Tour player.

If he is found guilty of a breach, punishment can range from a reprimand to a fine, a suspension or expulsion from the tour.

In a statement released by his management company, Dyson said the violation was unintentional and he welcomed the hearing.

"I would like to say at this stage that I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past," Dyson said. "It was only after I was shown the replay of my action … that I realized what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified."

Dyson said it was "in no way a deliberate act."

"It was simply an accidental mistake which I have no reservations in apologizing for, and particularly to my fellow professionals and the tour for any inconvenience and embarrassment unintentionally caused," he said.

Share
Comments
 

Latest Videos
Chelsea may be unstoppable this season
6:11 | Oct 31, 2014