NHL announces Division captains for 2016 All-Star Game

No one would deny that the NHL All-star Game needed some tweaking. But instead of a tweak, the NHL gave the format a complete overhaul.

Hockey fans have spoken.

The NHL announced its Division captains for the 2016 Honda NHL All-Star Game in Nashville Saturday based on the results of a fan voting process, via official release.

Washington Capitals’ Alex Ovechkin, Chicago Blackhawks’ Patrick Kane, Florida Panthers’ Jaromir Jagr, and Arizona Coyotes’ John Scott were announced as Division captains.

The league allowed fans to vote for up to four players from Dec. 1, 2015 to Jan. 1, 2016. The elected captains will lead players from their respective division in a three-game, 3-on-3 tournament.

The NHL will announce the remaining 40 all-stars on Jan. 6. Teams will be comprised of six forwards, three defencemen and two goaltenders.

Kane is the NHL's leading scorer with 56 points this season. Ovechkin sits fifth in goals with 21 and Jagr is enjoying a productive season with 11 goals and 26 points in 34 games at the age of 43.

John Scott is a different story.

Scott was catapulted to the top of the NHL's fan vote behind the strength of a fervent social media campaign. The Coyotes enforcer has one assist in 11 games this season and was placed on waivers on Dec. 18.

More via NHL release:

The 2016 Honda NHL All-Star celebration will mark the first time Nashville has hosted the NHL All-Star festivities, which will take place at Bridgestone Arena. Live television coverage of the League’s midseason showcase during the 2016 Honda NHL All-Star Skills Competition and 2016 Honda NHL All-Star Game will be broadcast by NBCSN in the U.S. and Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada. The 2016 Honda NHL All-Star Skills Competition will begin at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT on Saturday, Jan. 30, and the 2016 Honda NHL All-Star Game will start at 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT on Sunday, Jan. 31.