Senators: 40 games shown on Sportsnet

OTTAWA — Rogers Sportsnet East continues to be the home of the Ottawa Senators thanks to a 40-game regular-season NHL schedule, which opens Friday, October 17th at 7 p.m. (ET) when the Sens host the Phoenix Coyotes.

The Sportsnet schedule has something for all Senators fans including 11 match-ups versus divisional rivals and 10 against Canadian-based teams. Selected games will be presented in HD. This season marks the 10th consecutive year that Sportsnet has broadcast Senators Hockey.

The Sens will feature a new look and a new attitude this season, starting at the top with new head coach Craig Hartsburg. The offense once again will be led by veterans Daniel Alfredsson, Jason Spezza and Dany Heatley. The blue line will be anchored by Chris Phillips while Martin Gerber will be between the pipes. Additions to their lineup includes Jason Smith, veteran defenseman and former captain of both the Philadelphia Flyers and Edmonton Oilers, pesky winger Jarkko Ruutu and back up goaltender Alex Auld.

Sportsnet East will boast some of the best Senators’ match-ups of the season including:

– War of Ontario — two games with their bitter inter-province rivals the Toronto Maple Leafs
– The Battle for Highway 417 -– two match-ups with their neighbours down the highway, the Montreal Canadiens
– Alexander The Great –- three games versus MVP Alexander Ovechkin and the Washington Capitals
– The Return of Chara -– three games against defenceman Zedena Chara, the former Sen who captains the Boston Bruins

The complete 2008-09 Sportsnet East Senators broadcast schedule can be found below.
For all the scores, highlights, breaking news and inside stories from the Ottawa Senators and the entire NHL tune in to Sportsnet Connected and log on to sportsnet.ca. “Your home team. First.”

OTTAWA SENATORS ON SPORTSNET EAST
all games and times subject to change

GM DAY DATE AWAY HOME SN East (ET)
1 Fri. 10/17/08 Phoenix Ottawa 7:00 ET
2 Fri. 10/24/08 Anaheim Ottawa 7:00 ET
3 Tues 11/04/08 Washington Ottawa 7:30 ET
4 Thur 11/06/08 Philadelphia Ottawa 7:30 ET
5 Fri. 11/07/08 Ottawa Carolina 7:00 ET
6 Thur 11/13/08 NY Islanders Ottawa 7:30 ET
7 Mon 11/17/08 Ottawa NY Rangers 7:00 ET
8 Thur 11/20/08 Montreal Ottawa 7:30 ET
9 Thur 11/27/08 Toronto Ottawa 7:30 ET
10 Mon 12/08/08 Florida Ottawa 7:30 ET
11 Fri. 12/12/08 Ottawa Washington 7:00 ET
12 Tues 12/16/08 Atlanta Ottawa 7:30 ET
13 Fri. 12/19/08 Ottawa New Jersey 7:00 ET
14 Tues 12/23/08 Ottawa Philadelphia 7:00 ET
15 Sun 12/28/08 Ottawa Vancouver 10:00 ET
16 Tues 12/30/08 Ottawa Edmonton 10:00 ET
17 Tues 01/06/09 Ottawa Buffalo 7:00 ET
18 Thur 01/08/09 Ottawa Boston 7:00 ET
19 Tues 01/13/09 Carolina Ottawa 7:30 ET
20 Tues 01/27/09 New Jersey Ottawa 7:30 ET
21 Thur 01/29/09 Ottawa St. Louis 8:30 ET
22 Fri. 01/30/09 Ottawa Columbus 7:00 ET
23 Sun 02/01/09 Ottawa Washington 12:30 ET
24 Tues 02/03/09 Los Angeles Ottawa 7:30 ET
25 Thur 02/12/09 Ottawa Philadelphia 7:00 ET
26 Tues 02/17/09 Ottawa Colorado 9:30 ET
27 Thur 02/19/09 Vancouver Ottawa 7:30 ET
28 Tues 02/24/09 Carolina Ottawa 7:30 ET
29 Thur 02/26/09 San Jose Ottawa 7:30 ET
30 Tues 03/03/09 Calgary Ottawa 7:30 ET
31 Thur 03/05/09 Edmonton Ottawa 7:30 ET
32 Mon 03/09/09 Toronto Ottawa 7:30 ET
33 Thur 03/12/09 Ottawa Boston 7:00 ET
34 Tues 03/17/09 Buffalo Ottawa 7:30 ET
35 Thur 03/19/09 Montreal Ottawa 7:30 ET
36 Tues 03/31/09 Ottawa Florida 7:30 ET
37 Thur 04/02/09 Ottawa Boston 7:00 ET
38 Mon 04/06/09 Ottawa Montreal 7:30 ET
39 Tues 04/07/09 Boston Ottawa 7:30 ET
40 Thur 04/09/09 New Jersey Ottawa 7:30 ET