GSP out with torn right abductor

September 16, 2009, 4:57 AM


Welterweight champion Georges St. Pierre tore a tendon in his right abductor during his UFC 100 bout in Las Vegas Saturday night, MRI results confirmed Tuesday.

St. Pierre, who said he snapped his abductor muscle in the third round of his unanimous decision victory over Thiago Alves, had already been handed a medical suspension by the Nevada State Athletic Commission. He’ll be out of action until Jan. 8 unless a doctor says otherwise.

The Montrealer underwent the MRI in his home town on Tuesday to determine the extent of the injury. Even if cleared by an orthopedic doctor, St. Pierre was still under a suspension until Aug. 11 for precautionary reasons, with no contact until Aug. 2.

Three other fighters were suspended for the same length. Yoshihiro Akiyama, who defeated Alan Belcher by split decision, suffered a fractured left orbital bone. If cleared by an ophthalmologist, he’ll be able to fight again on Aug. 11; otherwise, he’s out until Jan. 8.

Meanwhile undercard winners Jim Miller and Shannon Gugerty have minor injuries that will need doctor’s clearance in order for each to fight before January.

Frank Mir and Michael Bisping, both victims of knockouts at the hands of Brock Lesnar and Dan Henderson, respectively, were suspended until Sept. 10 with no contact until Aug. 26.

NOTES: Brock Lesnar and Georges St. Pierre led the night’s paydays, each earning $400,000 for their wins (Lesnar’s purse was guaranteed).

The full salaries for UFC 100 were as follows:

Jon Fitch: $90,000 (includes $45,000 win bonus)
def. Paulo Thiago: $8,000

Brock Lesnar: $400,000 (no win bonus)
def. Frank Mir: $45,000

Georges St-Pierre: $400,000 ($200,000 win bonus)
def. Thiago Alves: $60,000

Dan Henderson: $250,00 ($150,000 win bonus)
def. Michael Bisping: $150,000

Yoshihiro Akiyama: $60,000 ($20,000 win bonus)
def. Alan Belcher: $19,000

Mark Coleman: $100,000 ($50,000 win bonus)
def. Stephan Bonnar: $25,000

Jim Miller: $22,000 ($11,000 win bonus)
def. Mac Danzig: $20,000

Jon Jones: $18,000 ($9000 win bonus)
def. Jake O’Brien: $13,000

Dong Hyun Kim: $58,000 ($29,000 win bonus)
def. T.J. Grant: $5,000

Tom Lawlor: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
def. C.B. Dollway: $14,000

Shannon Gugerty: $10,000 ($5,000 win bonus)
def. Matt Grice: $7,000

As usual, the figures released by the NSAC do not include UFC bonuses, sponsorship dollars or any cuts of the pay-per-view buys, which some of the top fighters have in their contracts.


Latest UFC Videos
Watch UFC Central: In-depth look at Dana White
23:20 | Oct 1, 2014