Barclays Premier League on Sportsnet

Can Manchester City repeat as Premier League champions in 2014-15? (Jon Super/AP)
August 1, 2014, 10:01 AM

Sportsnet on Friday announced its broadcast schedule for the 2014-15 Barclays Premier League season, which kicks off on Aug. 16.

Check out the broadcast schedule below, and read about the six games that will air live on the network that are “must-watch” TV…

Aug. 16: Manchester United vs. Swansea City
The season curtain raiser at Old Trafford marks the beginning of the Louis Van Gaal era at Manchester United. Van Gaal arrives in Manchester with the Red Devils firmly in rebuilding mode after they finished seventh last season. A busy summer saw United bid adieu to veterans Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic, and add Spanish midfielder Ander Herrera and English defender Luke Shaw. We’ll get our first glimpse of Van Gaal’s influence on opening day when United hosts the Swans.

Aug 30: Everton vs. Chelsea
Romelu Lukaku said he harboured no regrets or resentment over his time at Chelsea after recently transferring from the London club to Everton. The Belgian striker didn’t figure in Jose Mourinho’s plans last season, so he was sent on loan to Everton, where he bagged an impressive 15 goals. The Toffees were so convinced of his skills that they paid Chelsea a club-record 28 million pound transfer fee for his services. The Belgian has a chance to prove Mourinho was wrong to let him go when the teams square off in this one.

Sept. 21: Manchester City vs. Chelsea
Chelsea had a major hand in Manchester City claiming the championship last season, the Blues’ famous win over Liverpool at Anfield giving the advantage to Manuel Pellegrini’s side. City hasn’t made major moves this off-season, sticking with the core of players who led them to glory a season ago. Chelsea has strengthened, most notably adding midfielder Cesc Fabregas, and pose the biggest threat to City repeating as champions.

Oct. 5: Chelsea vs. Arsenal
It was supposed to be Arsene Wenger’s day. The French manager was celebrating his 1,000th game in charge of Arsenal in March, but Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea weren’t about to throw him a party. Instead, the Blues hammered the Gunners 6-0 at Stamford Bridge, effectively ending Arsenal’s title hopes. Wenger, though, has retooled this summer, spending big on defenders Mathieu Debuchy and Calum Chambers, and Chilean goal-scorer Alexis Sanchez. This visit to Stamford Bridge will be a major test of their title aspirations. Don’t expect another 6-0 mauling.

Oct. 26: Manchester United vs. Chelsea
Louis Van Gaal mentored Jose Mourinho at Barcelona long before the Portuguese became the “Special One.” Mourinho has since gone on to great success, and like Van Gaal, he hasn’t been shy about letting others know how great he is. Now the two managers with perhaps the biggest egos in world soccer are in the same league at the same time. And although Van Gaal insists he won’t get sucked into a war of words with Mourinho, the Chelsea manager has a knack for dragging opposing managers down to his level.

Nov. 8: Liverpool vs. Chelsea
Steven Gerrard’s infamous slip against Chelsea at Anfield last season all but cost Liverpool the league title. Gerrard’s mistake led to a Demba Ba goal in the Blues’ 2-0 win, opening the door for Manchester City, who went on to claim its second championship in three seasons. Over six months later after “the slip,” the two sides meet again at Anfield with a new-look Liverpool—having pillaged Southampton of defender Dejan Lovren, midfielder Adam Lallana and forward Rickie Lambert—looking for revenge.



Sportsnet’s 2014-15 Barclays Premier League Broadcast Schedule

(You can watch all games listed below live on Sportsnet World Now)

Saturday, Aug. 16
Manchester United vs. Swansea City, 7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Queens Park Rangers vs. Hull City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• West Ham United vs. Tottenham, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, and Pacific)
• Arsenal vs. Crystal Palace, 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Monday, Aug. 18
• Burnley vs. Chelsea, 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Aug. 23
• Aston Villa vs. Newcastle United, 7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Chelsea vs. Leicester City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, and Pacific)
• Swansea City vs. Burnley, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Sunday, Aug. 24
• Hull City vs. Stoke City, 8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Sunderland vs. Manchester United, 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Aug. 30
• Burnley vs. Manchester United, 7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Newcastle United vs. Crystal Palace, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, and Pacific)
• Swansea City vs. West Bromwich Albion, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
Everton vs. Chelsea, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World and Sportsnet 360)

Sunday, Aug. 31
• Leicester City vs. Arsenal, 11 a.m. ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Sept. 13
• Chelsea vs. Swansea City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, and Pacific)
• Crystal Palace vs. Burnley, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• Southampton vs. Newcastle United, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Sunday, Sept. 14
• Manchester United vs. Queens Park Rangers, 11 a.m. ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Monday, Sept. 15
• Hull City vs. West Ham United, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Sept. 20
• Queens Park Rangers vs. Stoke City, 7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Newcastle United vs. Hull City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• West Ham United vs. Liverpool, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Sunday, Sept. 21
• Everton vs. Crystal Palace, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
Manchester City vs. Chelsea, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Saturday, Sept. 27
• Hull City vs. Manchester City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m.PT (Sportsnet World)
• Manchester United vs. West Ham United, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Southampton vs. Queens Park Rangers, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• Sunderland vs. Swansea City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)

Sunday, Sept. 28
• West Bromwich Albion vs. Burnley, 11 a.m. ET/ 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Oct. 4
• Hull City vs. Crystal Palace, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• Liverpool vs. West Bromwich Albion, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Swansea City vs. Newcastle United, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Aston Villa vs. Manchester City, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Sunday, Oct. 5
Chelsea vs. Arsenal, 8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Saturday, Oct. 18
• Arsenal vs. Hull City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Burnley vs. West Ham United, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Southampton vs. Sunderland, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)

Sunday, Oct. 19
• Stoke City vs. Swansea City, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Monday, Oct. 20
• West Bromwich Albion vs. Manchester United, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Oct. 25
• Liverpool vs. Hull City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, West, Ontario and Pacific)
• Southampton vs. Stoke City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Swansea City vs. Leicester City, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Sunday, Oct. 26
• Burnley vs. Everton, 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
Manchester United vs. Chelsea, 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Saturday, Nov. 1
• Newcastle United vs. Liverpool, 8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Chelsea vs. Queens Park Rangers, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Hull City vs. Southampton, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Leicester City vs. West Bromwich Albion, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)

Monday, Nov. 3
• Crystal Palace vs. Sunderland, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Nov. 8
Liverpool vs. Chelsea, 7:30 a.m. ET/4:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)
• Tottenham vs. Stoke City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• West Ham United vs. Aston Villa, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Queen Park Rangers vs. Manchester City, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West, Pacific and World)

Sunday, Nov. 9
• West Bromwich Albion vs. Newcastle, 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Nov. 22
• Chelsea vs. West Bromwich Albion, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Leicester City vs. Sunderland, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• Newcastle United vs. Queens Park Rangers, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Sunday, Nov. 23
• Crystal Palace vs. Liverpool, 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Hull City vs. Tottenham, 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)

Saturday, Nov. 29
• Liverpool vs. Stoke City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Manchester United vs. Hull City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Queens Park Rangers vs. Leicester City, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• West Ham United vs. Newcastle, 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• Sunderland vs. Chelsea, Noon ET/9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE and World)

Tuesday, Dec. 2
• Leicester City vs. Liverpool, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)
• Manchester United vs. Stoke City, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific)
• Crystal Palace vs. Aston Villa, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)
• West Bromwich Albion vs. West Ham United, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World NOW)

Wednesday, Dec. 3
• Everton vs. Hull City, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet World)


Soccer Central podcast: SPORTSNET.CA’s Soccer Central podcast, hosted by John Molinaro and James Sharman, takes an in-depth look at the beautiful game and offers timely and thoughtful analysis on the sport’s biggest issues. To listen and subscribe to the podcast, CLICK HERE.


Share

Latest Videos
MLB: KC 4, CWS 3
1:03 | Sep 16, 2014