Bendtner, Eriksen headline Denmark’s squad

May 16, 2012, 7:52 PM


COPENHAGEN, Denmark — Sunderland striker Nicklas Bendtner, Ajax midfielder Christian Eriksen and Liverpool defender Daniel Agger have been called up to Denmark’s squad for the European Championship.

Denmark coach Morten Olsen named 20 players on Wednesday, leaving three spots open before the May 29 deadline.

The most difficult choice left for Olsen is deciding who to pick for third-choice goalkeeper, after Thomas Sorensen and Stephan Andersen.

His options include Leicester goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel — the son of Denmark great Peter Schmeichel — and Anders Lindegaard of Manchester United.

"But there are others, too," Olsen said. "We’ll see what will happen."

Denmark’s hopes of advancing from a group that also includes the Netherlands, Germany and Portugal depend on Bendtner and other key players being injury-free and in form as the tournament kicks off in less than four weeks.

Olsen said Bendtner was an important part of his teams, not just for his goal-scoring ability but his skill in setting up combinations.

Veteran winger Dennis Rommedahl was included in the squad even though he’s nursing a thigh injury.

"He will be ready," Olsen said.

AS Roma defender Simon Kjaer and Stuttgart midfielder William Kvist were also named in Olsen’s squad.

The team will start gathering for a training camp north of Copenhagen on Thursday. They will play friendlies against Brazil and Australia before taking off for their Euro 2012 base in Poland.

Olsen started his presentation by noting that Denmark won the 1992 European Championships after beating Germany in the final 2-0 — one of the biggest upsets in the tournament’s history. The Danes entered that tournament as a late replacement for war-torn Yugoslavia.

"There is no denying that this will be a source of inspiration to us," Olsen said.



Goalkeepers: Thomas Sorensen (Stoke), Stephan Andersen (Evian).

Defenders: Lars Jacobsen (FC Copenhagen), Michael Silberbauer (BSC Young Boys), Simon Busk Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar), Daniel Wass (Evian), Simon Kjaer (AS Roma) , Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Andreas Bjelland (FC Nordsjaelland).

Midfielders: William Kvist (Stuttgart), Christian Poulsen (Evian), Niki Zimling (Brugge), Jakob Poulsen (FC Midtjylland), Lasse Schone (Nijmegen), Christian Eriksen (Ajax).

Forwards: Dennis Rommedahl (Brondby), Tobias Mikkelsen (FC Nordsjaelland), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brondby), Thomas Kahlenberg (Evian), Nicklas Bendtner (Sunderland).


Latest Videos
Manning and Anderson lead Broncos in comeback win
0:29 | Nov 23, 2014