Absurd: Toure got 18 Ballon d’Or votes. Yes, 18

Yaya Toure in action for Manchester City. (Jon Super/AP)

Lionel Messi made history on Monday when he was named the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the fifth time.

Now the fun and the mocking begin as we examine the ballots.

Voting for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award is conducted among the coaches and captains of national teams and journalists. Each country gets three votes, and as is the case every year, balloting for the 2015 award had some surprising picks. To consult the full list, CLICK HERE.

Among the highlights…

Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar pick their teammates

Yaya Toure? Really? Really?

No Javier Mascherano love from Roy Hodgson this year

Wales’ campaign for Gareth Bale

Messi and Ronaldo NOT in the top three. OK then.

Help wanted at Manchester United

Little love for Paul Pogba

Did you even watch any soccer in 2015?