Sportsnet to broadcast full 17-race season for 2021 IndyCar Series

indycar-texas-motor-speedway

In this June 8, 2019, file photo, drivers jockey for position at the start of an IndyCar auto race at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas. (Larry Papke/AP)

Start your engines, Canada.

Sportsnet is bringing Canadian racing fans live coverage of the NTT IndyCar Series, beginning with the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama on April 17 and 18. Coverage of the race starts at 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT on Sportsnet 360, and official prime-time race action will start at 8 p.m. ET on Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360 and Sportsnet World.

Among the newcomers to IndyCar in 2021 are seventeen-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, three-time Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin and Formula One veteran Romain Grosjean.

There also will be some familiar names in new cars to start the new season as Canadian James Hinchcliffe joins Andretti Autosport while Felix Rosenqvist moves from Chip Ganassi Racing to Arrow McLaren SP. Alex Palou will take Rosenqvist’s spot in the No. 10 Dallara-Honda at Ganassi and returning to full-time schedules is four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais with AJ Foyt Racing.

Sportsnet is the exclusive home to the full 17-race NTT IndyCar Series circuit in Canada this summer, with all live races available on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World and live streaming on Sportsnet NOW+.

Catch all the action on Sportsnet, at the times and dates listed below:

April 17 & 18: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

Sat., April 17
Practice #1 at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Indy Lights Race #1 at 1:05 p.m. ET / 10:05 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Practice #2 at 2:40 p.m. ET / 11:40 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Qualifying at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on SN NOW+

Sun., April 18
Indy Lights Race #2 at 1:10 p.m. ET / 10:10 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Race at 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT on Sportsnet 360 and SN NOW

April 25: Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

May 1: Genesys 300 – Texas Motor Speedway – Race #1

7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Sportsnet World and SN NOW+

May 2: Xpel 375 – Texas Motor Speedway – Race #2

5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

May 15: GMR Grand Prix

2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

May 18-30: 105th Running of the Indianapolis 500

Tues., May 18
Practice at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Wed., May 19
Practice at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Thurs., May 20
Practice at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Fri., May 21
Practice at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Sat., May 22
Practice at 8 a.m. ET / 5 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Qualifying at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Sun., May 23
Practice at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Qualifying at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Fri., May 28
Final Practice at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on SN NOW+
Pit Stop Challenge at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on SN NOW+

Sun., May 30
Race at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

June 12: Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix – Race #1

2 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

June 13: Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix – Race #2

Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

June 20: Rev Group Grand Prix at Road America

Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

July 4: Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

July 11: Honda Indy Toronto

Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

August 8: Big Machine Music City Grand Prix

5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

August 14: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course

12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

August 21: Bommarito Automotive Group 500

8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

September 12: Grand Prix of Portland

3 p.m. ET / Noon PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

September 19: Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey

3 p.m. ET / Noon PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

September 26: Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach

3 p.m. ET / Noon PT on Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, and SN NOW

*Schedule subject to change. Check sportsnet.ca/schedule for the most up-to-date TV listings.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.