Starting Grid: St. Petersburg Grand Prix preview

Canadian IndyCar driver James Hinchcliffe. (Darron Cummings/AP)

The IndyCar season kicks off on Sunday with all the title contenders looking to get a headstart on the competition at the St. Petersburg Grand Prix.

The inaugural race of the season will have particular significance for Canadian fans as Toronto native James Hinchcliffe returns to the circuit after suffering a near fatal crash last year.

Here’s what you need to know about the race:

Watch the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Grand Prix live on Sportsnet One with coverage starting at 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT.

Track Info

The Grand Prix of St. Petersburg is held on a 1.8 mile course with 14 turns on an asphalt surface. The drivers will complete 110 laps of the street circuit that includes two landing strips of Albert Whitted Airport and a foray into the Al Lang Stadium parking lot.

Virtual Lap

Qualification for the St.Petersburg Grand Prix

Pos. Driver Team (Engine) Time
1. Will Power  Team Penske (Chevrolet) 01:00.6931
2. Simon Pagenaud  Team Penske (Chevrolet) 01:00.7252
3. Helio Castroneves  Team Penske (Chevrolet) 01:00.8356
4. Juan Pablo Montoya  Team Penske (Chevrolet) 01:00.8532
5. Takuma Sato  A.J. Foyt Enterprises (Honda) 01:01.1496
6. Sebstien Bourdais  KVSH Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.1545
7. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.1182
8. Ryan Hunter-Reay  Andretti Autosport (Honda)
9. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.2285
10. Josef Newgarden  CFH Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.2478
11. Simona de Silvestro  Andretti Autosport (Honda) 01:01.3657
12. Marco Andretti  Andretti Autosport (Honda) 01:01.4765
13. Charlie Kimball  Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.5727
14. Carlos Munoz  Andretti Autosport (Honda) 01:01.4890
15. Graham Rahal  Rahal Letterman Lanigan (Honda) 01:01.5742
16. James Hinchcliffe  Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (Honda) 01:01.5780
17. Stefano Coletti KV Racing Technology (Chevrolet) 01:01.6727
18. Sage Karam Chip Ganassi Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.8011
19. Luca Filippi  CFH Racing (Chevrolet) 01:01.6736
20. James Jakes  Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (Honda) 01:01.8323
21. Jack Hawksworth   A.J. Foyt Enterprises (Honda) 01:02.0095
22. Gabby Chaves  BHA with Curb-Agajanian (Honda) 01:01.9705
23. Francesco Dracone  Dale Coyne Racing (Honda) 01:04.2654
24. Carlos Huertas  Dale Coyne Racing (Honda) 01:01.9716

NOTE: Qualification results do not reflect grid penalties.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.