Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger, A’s Matt Olson among 2019 Gold Glove winners

Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Cody Bellinger attempts to throw out New York Yankees' DJ LeMahieu at second on a single by Aaron Judge second during the fifth inning of a baseball game Friday, Aug. 23, 2019, in Los Angeles. LeMahieu was safe. (Mark J. Terrill/AP)

As the Washington Nationals continue their unexpected Word Series championship celebration with epic parades and iconic pictures, MLB has started handing out some hardware for the 2019 season.

On Sunday, the league announced the Gold Glove winners in the American and National leagues. The award is given to the best fielders in each positions.

The Toronto Blue Jays were represented by first baseman Justin Smoak and catcher Danny Jansen in the nominations, but both came away short of the hardware. While Smoak was defeated by the Oakland Athletics’ Matt Olson — who earned his second-consecutive Gold Glove — Jansen finished as a runner up to Cleveland Indians’ Roberto Perez.

MVP candidate Cody Bellinger won his first career Gold Glove. The 24-year-old spent most of his first two major-league seasons at first base, but seems to have adjusted well to the transition to right field, where he played for the larger part of Los Angeles’ 2019 season.

Other new faces like J.T. Realmuto and Kolten Wong shared the spotlight with familiar faces in Mookie Betts, Alex Gordon and Nolan Arenado — the former two reached seven Gold Gloves each. Houston Astros pitcher Zack Greinke won his sixth-career Gold Glove.

Here is the complete list of winners and runners-up for the 2019 Gold Glove award.

American League

First base: Matt Olson (Oakland Athletics)
Other nominees: Yuli Gurriel (Houston Astros), Justin Smoak (Toronto Blue Jays)

Second base: Yolmer Sanchez (Chicago White Sox)
Other nominees: Jose Altuve, (Astros), DJ LeMahieu (New York Yankees)

Shortstop: Francisco Lindor (Cleveland Indians)
Other nominees: Marcus Semien (Athletics), Andrelton Simmons (Los Angeles Angels)

Third base: Matt Chapman (Oakland Athletics)
Other nominees: Alex Bregman (Astros), David Fletcher (Angels)

Left field: Alex Gordon (Kansas City Royals)
Other nominees: Andrew Benintendi (Boston Red Sox), Robbie Grossman (Athletics)

Centre field: Kevin Kiermaier (Tampa Bay Rays)
Other nominees: Jackie Bradley Jr. (Red Sox), Mike Trout (Angels)

Right field: Mookie Betts (Red Sox)
Other nominees: Kole Calhoun (Angels), Josh Reddick (Astros)

Pitcher : Mike Leake (Seattle Mariners/Arizona Diamondbacks)
Other nominees: Jose Berrios (Minnesota Twins), Lucas Giolito (Chicago White Sox)

Catcher: Roberto Perez (Indians)
Other nominees: Danny Jansen (Blue Jays), Christian Vazquez (Red Sox)

National League

First base: Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs)
Other nominees: Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals), Christian Walker (Diamondbacks)

Second base: Kolten Wong (Cardinals)
Other nominees: Ozzie Albies (Atlanta Braves), Adam Frazier (Pittsburgh Pirates)

Shortstop: Nick Ahmed (Diamondbacks)
Other nominees: Paul DeJong (Cardinals), Trevor Story (Colorado Rockies)

Third base: Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
Other nominees: Josh Donaldson (Atlanta Braves), Anthony Rendon (Washington Nationals)

Left field: David Peralta (Diamondbacks)
Other nominees: Hunter Renfroe (San Diego Padres), Juan Soto (Nationals)

Centre field: Lorenzo Cain (Milwaukee Brewers)
Other nominees: Harrison Bader (Cardinals), Victor Robles (Nationals)

Right field: Cody Bellinger (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Other nominees: Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies), Jason Heyward (Cubs)

Pitcher: Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks/Astros)
Other nominees: Jack Flaherty (Cardinals), Aaron Nola (Phillies)

Catcher: J.T. Realmuto (Phillies)
Other nominees: Austin Hedges (Padres), Yadier Molina (Cardinals)

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.