Guerrero, Jones, Thome, Hoffman elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Tim and Sid react to the four new inductees into the MLB Hall of Fame and discuss if one day Edgar Martinez or Larry Walker will get the call.

Vladimir Guerrero, Chipper Jones, Jim Thome and Trevor Hoffman were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame Wednesday, while Edgar Martinez fell just short.

Jones and Thome enter on their first ballot while Guerrero enters on his second attempt and Hoffman enters on his third. As for Martinez, he’ll be eligible for the 10th and final time a year from now.

Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens continued to make progress, but fell shy of the 75 per cent approval rating required by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The players will be inducted to Cooperstown on July 29 along with former Tigers teammates Jack Morris and Alan Trammell, who were elected by the Modern Baseball Era committee last month.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.