GSOC awards Pinty’s Cup to points leaders Jacobs, Hasselborg

Team Jacobs came away with a dramatic 6-5 win over Team Epping to win the Canadian Open men’s final.

Brad Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., and Sweden’s Anna Hasselborg have captured the Pinty’s Cup for the 2019-20 season.

The Pinty’s Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s season champions in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling following the conclusion of the Princess Auto Players’ Championship, however, with the cancellation of the event, the series decided Wednesday to award the titles based on the current standings. Teams that finish within the top four receive bonus prizes.

Jacobs and Hasselborg were victorious at the past three Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events winning the KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge, BOOST National and Meridian Canadian Open titles consecutively. Both teams received $75,000 for finishing first overall.

Jacobs topped the men’s division with 41 points. Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., finished second (32 points) and earned $40,000. Scotland’s Bruce Mouat came in third place (21 points) and claimed $25,000. The fourth-place bonus of $10,000 has been divided amongst Edmonton’s Brendan Bottcher, Toronto’s John Epping and Winnipeg’s Mike McEwen as all three were tied with 18 points each.

Hasselborg dominated the women’s standings with 43 points and a 17-point gap over second-place Satsuki Fujisawa of Japan. Fujisawa (26 points) took home $40,000. Masters women’s champion Tracy Fleury of East St. Paul, Man., ended in third place (25 points) and collected $25,000. Winnipeg’s Jennifer Jones (24 points) cashed in $10,000 for finishing fourth.

This is the first time Hasselborg has won the Pinty’s Cup. It’s the second for Jacobs, who also claimed the Pinty’s Cup during the 2014-15 season after winning his first Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s title at the Players’ Championship.

The 2019-20 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season ended early following last week’s cancellation of the Princess Auto Players’ Championship and Humpty’s Champions Cup. The series also announced Wednesday teams that had qualified for the Humpty’s Champions Cup will keep their spots for next season’s event.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.