Homan, Koe to headline field for GSOC Masters in North Bay

Rachel Homan shoots a stone during the 2018 Masters in Truro, N.S. (Anil Mungal)

Ottawa’s Team Rachel Homan and Calgary’s Team Kevin Koe will begin their quests to defend their Pinty’s Cup titles at the Masters in North Bay, Ont.

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Thursday the full list of teams for its season-opening event — running Oct. 22-27 at North Bay Memorial Gardens — featuring the world’s No. 1 ranked women’s and men’s teams.

The first major of the 2019-20 season includes 15 of the top men’s teams and 15 of the top women’s teams from around the globe based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit rankings. In the event a team declined, the next-ranked team on the OOM received an invitation. A full matchup schedule is expected to be announced in the near future.

Teams will compete for a $300,000 combined purse plus points for the Pinty’s Cup, which is awarded to the season champions in the series following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship. Homan and Koe are the reigning Pinty’s Cup champions. The winning men’s and women’s teams also earn berths to the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup taking place April 29 – May 3, 2020, in Olds, Alta.

Team Anna Hasselborg of Sweden and Toronto’s Team John Epping, both ranked No. 2 in the world, are the defending Masters champions.

Broadcast coverage on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW to be announced.

2019 Masters women’s division

Team Hometown
Team Theresa Cannon Winnipeg, MB
Team Chelsea Carey Calgary, AB
Team Kerri Einarson Gimli, MB
Team Tracy Fleury East St. Paul, MB
Team Satsuki Fujisawa Kitami, JPN
Team Anna Hasselborg Sundbyberg, SWE
Team Rachel Homan Ottawa, ON
Team Jennifer Jones Winnipeg, MB
Team Eve Muirhead Stirling, SCO
Team Kelsey Rocque Edmonton, AB
Team Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
Team Robyn Silvernagle North Battleford, SK
Team Elena Stern Oberwallis, SUI
Team Silvana Tirinzoni Aarau, SUI
Team Sayaka Yoshimura Sapporo, JPN

2019 Masters men’s division

Team Hometown
Team Brendan Bottcher Edmonton, AB
Team Peter de Cruz Geneva, SUI
Team Matt Dunstone Regina, SK
Team Niklas Edin Karlstad, SWE
Team John Epping Toronto, ON
Team Brad Gushue St. John’s, NL
Team Glenn Howard Penetanguishene, ON
Team Brad Jacobs Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Team Kevin Koe Calgary, AB
Team Scott McDonald Kingston, ON
Team Mike McEwen Winnipeg, MB
Team Bruce Mouat Edinburgh, SCO
Team Ross Paterson Glasgow, SCO
Team Yannick Schwaller Bern, SUI
Team John Shuster Duluth, USA

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.