Koe, Carey to headline field for Players’ Championship in Toronto

Kevin Koe in action during the Meridian Canadian Open in North Battleford, Sask. (Anil Mungal)

TORONTO — Team Kevin Koe and Team Chelsea Carey will lead the way for the 2019 Players’ Championship next month at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Tuesday the 12 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams set to compete in the sixth event and fourth major of the season, running April 9-14, featuring the recently crowned Canadian champions.

Teams were invited based on the World Curling Tour’s year-to-date rankings. A full matchup schedule is expected to be announced soon.

Both divisions will be divided into two pools of six teams for round-robin play with the top eight overall qualifying for the playoffs.

A $300,000 total purse split evenly between the men’s and women’s divisions is on the line as well as the Pinty’s Cup, which will be awarded to the season champions in the series with the winning teams cashing in $75,000 bonuses. Team Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., (34 points) and Ottawa’s Team Rachel Homan (52 points) are at the top of the Pinty’s Cup standings entering the Players’ Championship.

Save the dates! The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling has released its schedule for next season with the Canadian Beef Masters kicking off the 2019-20 campaign Oct. 22-27 in North Bay, Ont.

Broadcast coverage begins April 11 on Sportsnet with online streaming available at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

It’ll be the fifth consecutive season and sixth time in seven years the historic venue formerly known as Maple Leaf Gardens hosts the crown jewel Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event. The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced last week Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre will hold the Players’ Championship next season as well.

Players’ Championship: Men’s Teams

Team Hometown
Team Brendan Bottcher Edmonton, AB
Team Reid Carruthers Winnipeg, MB
Team Peter de Cruz Geneva, SUI
Team Matt Dunstone Regina, SK
Team Niklas Edin Karlstad, SWE
Team John Epping Toronto, ON
Team Brad Gushue St. John’s, NL
Team Glenn Howard Penetanguishene, ON
Team Brad Jacobs Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Team Kevin Koe Calgary, AB
Team Bruce Mouat Edinburgh, SCO
Team Ross Paterson Glasgow, SCO

Players’ Championship: Women’s Teams

Team Hometown
Team Chelsea Carey Calgary, AB
Team Kerri Einarson Gimli, MB
Team Tracy Fleury East St. Paul, MB
Team Satsuki Fujisawa Kitami, JPN
Team Anna Hasselborg Sundbyberg, SWE
Team Rachel Homan Ottawa, ON
Team Jennifer Jones Winnipeg, MB
Team Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
Team Robyn Silvernagle North Battleford, SK
Team Elena Stern Oberwallis, SUI
Team Silvana Tirinzoni Aarau, SUI
Team Sayaka Yoshimura Sapporo, JPN

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.