Van Baarle wins Tour of Britain

Garmin-Sharp's Dylan Van Baarle puts on the overall leader's Yellow Jersey after retaining it after the Individual Time Trial during stage eight of the 2014 Tour of Britain in London. (Andrew Matthews/AP)

LONDON — Dutch rider Dylan van Baarle won the Tour of Britain on Sunday, holding onto the lead despite a strong time trial by former champion Bradley Wiggins on a final day featuring two stages in central London.

Van Baarle, who rides for Garmin-Sharp, finished 10 seconds clear of Poland’s Michal Kwiatkowski. Wiggins was third, a further 12 seconds back.

Wiggins, the Tour de France and Olympic champion in 2012, moved up from seventh to third by winning the time trial in the morning’s next-to-last stage.

Van Baarle crossed the line in the peloton in the tour-ending Stage 8 won by Marcel Kittel in the afternoon.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.