Three time champ Ko, Canadian star Henderson headline CP Women’s Open early roster

Brooke Henderson discusses how special it was to become Canada's most decorated golfer, after claiming her 11th LPGA tour victory, and looks ahead to this August's CP Women's Open, and can't wait to tee it up, and go after her 12th tour win.

OTTAWA — Three-time champion Lydia Ko, defending champion Jin Young Ko and Canadian star Brooke Henderson are among the early commitments for the 2022 CP Women’s Open.

Golf Canada on Tuesday released the early field list for the LPGA Tour’s lone Canadian stop, which returns after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It includes 16 of the top 20 players on the current LPGA Tour money list, seven past CP Women’s Open champions and 11 LPGA Tour in-year winners

Also on the list is Canadian golf legend Lorie Kane, who will be making a record 30th — and final — appearance at the tournament. The Charlottetown native is a four-time winner on the LPGA Tour.

[brightcove videoID=6308654348112 playerID=JCdte3tMv height=360 width=640]

The event will be held Aug. 25-28 at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club.

Lydia Ko won her first CP Women’s Open as an amateur in 2012. The New Zealander was the youngest-ever winner of an LPGA Tour event at 15 years and four months.

She defended her title as an amateur in 2013 and won again as a professional in 2015.

Henderson, from nearby Smiths Falls, Ont., won the 2018 event at Wascana Country Club in Regina. South Korea’s Jin Young Ko, currently ranked No. 1 in the world, won the following year at Magna Golf Club in Aurora, Ont.

Henderson, who was awarded the key to the city by Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson at a ceremony at the Hunt Club on Tuesday, is currently ranked 10th on the LPGA Tour money list.

[brightcove videoID=6308654176112 playerID=JCdte3tMv height=360 width=640]

Maude-Aimee Leblanc of Sherbrooke, Que., Maddie Szeryk of London, Ont., Hamilton’s Alena Sharp, Calgary’s Jaclyn Lee, Rebecca Lee-Bentham of Markham, Ont., and Selena Costabile of Thornhill, Ont., are among the early commitments. Reigning Canadian women’s amateur champion Lauren Zaretsky of Thornhill has earned an exemption.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.