Six cities set to host CHL’s 2018 Canada-Russia Series announced

Action from Game 3 of the 2016 CIBC Canada-Russia Series in North Bay, Ont. (Aaron Bell/CHL Images)

The six Canadian cites set to host the CHL’s 2018 CIBC Canada-Russia Series in November were announced Wednesday in a release from the CHL.

British Columbia’s Kamloops and Vancouver will host Games 1 and 2 on Nov. 5–6, hosted by the WHL’s Kamloops Blazers and Vancouver Giants. The series then moves to Ontario’s Sarnia and Oshawa on Nov. 8 and 12, hosted by the OHL’s Sarnia Sting and Oshawa Generals, before finishing up in Quebec’s Sherbrooke and Drummondville on Nov. 13 and 15, hosted by the QMJHL’s Sherbrooke Phoenix and Drummondville Voltigeurs.

The six-game Canada-Russia Series will feature regional teams from the WHL, OHL, and QMJHL facing off against the Russian national junior team. The CHL squads have won 12 of the 15 series since the event began in 2003. They’ve also won the past three straight years, taking the 2017 iteration in a series-deciding shootout.

“Over the past 15 years we’ve seen the Canada and Russia rivalry ignite passion in CHL communities across our great country,” CHL President David Branch said, per the organization’s release. “This is truly a special event that showcases many of our league’s best players and future Canadian national junior team stars who will compete to defend gold on home soil at the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship in Vancouver and Victoria.”

All six of the series’ games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.