Virtanen heads WHL roster at SUBWAY Super Series

Jake Virtanen (Brad Watson/Calgary Hitmen/CP)

Vancouver Canucks prospect Jake Virtanen will headline the Western Hockey League team that will open up the SUBWAY Super Series against Team Russia on Monday, Nov. 10th.

The WHL announced its roster on Thursday, and joining Virtanen are fellow first-round picks Haydn Fleury (Carolina Hurricanes), Travis Sanheim (Philadelphia Flyers), Conner Bleackley (Colorado Avalanche) and John Quenneville (New Jersey Devils).

The squad will be coached by Dave Lowry of the Victoria Royals, with Kelly McCrimmon of the Brandon Wheat Kings serving as an assistant coach.

The schedule for the SUBWAY Super Series, which will air on Sportsnet and TVA Sports, is as follows:

Game 1: Team WHL vs Team Russia (Monday, Nov. 10 at Saskatoon, SK)

Game 2: Team WHL vs Team Russia (Tuesday, Nov. 11 at Brandon, MB)

Game 3: Team OHL vs Team Russia (Thursday, Nov. 13 at Peterborough, ON)

Game 4: Team OHL vs Team Russia (Monday, Nov. 17 at Kingston, ON)

Game 5: Team QMJHL vs Team Russia (Tuesday, Nov. 18 at Bathurst, NB)

Game 6: Team QMJHL vs Team Russia (Thursday, Nov. 20 at Rimouski, QC)

The SUBWAY Super Series is an annual six game hockey event that features a Russian team of juniors playing all-star teams representing the three leagues of the Canadian Hockey League.

The full roster for Team WHL is:


Eric Comrie (Tri-City Americans / Edmonton, Alta)

Tristan Jarry (Edmonton Oil Kings / Delta, B.C.)


Madison Bowey (Kelowna Rockets / Winnipeg, Man.)

Haydn Fleury (Red Deer Rebels / Carlyle, Sask.)

Dillon Heatherington (Swift Current Broncos / Calgary, Alta.)

Joe Hicketts (Victoria Royals / Kamloops, B.C.)

Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders / Calgary, Alta.)

Travis Sanheim (Calgary Hitmen / Elkhorn, Man.)

Shea Theodore (Seattle Thunderbirds / Aldergrove, B.C.)


Tyson Baillie (Kelowna Rockets / Fort Saskatchewan, Alta.)

Conner Bleackley (Red Deer Rebels / High River, Alta.)

Greg Chase (Calgary Hitmen / Sherwood Park, Alta.)

Jaedon Descheneau (Kootenay Ice / Edmonton, Alta.)

Jayce Hawryluk (Brandon Wheat Kings / Roblin, Man.)

Morgan Klimchuck (Regina Pats / Calgary, Alta.)

Nic Petan (Portland Winterhawks / Delta, B.C.)

Brayden Point (Moose Jaw Warriors / Calgary, Alta.)

John Quenneville (Brandon Wheat Kings / Edmonton, Alta.)

Jake Virtanen (Calgary Hitmen / Abbotsford, B.C.)

(Two additional players will be added to Team WHL prior to the event)

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.