Bruins’ Cassidy raises goalie interference debate on Matthews goal

Auston Matthews and Kasperi Kapanen scored in the third period as the Maple Leafs edged the Bruins 2-1 to take a 3-2 series lead.

BOSTON – Bruce Cassidy is calling foul.

The head coach of the Boston Bruins believes Auston Matthews’s third period goal that snapped a 0-0 tie midway through the third period of Friday’s Game 5 should have been overturned due to goaltender interference.

Cassidy challenged the goal based on Toronto Maple Leafs forward Zach Hyman making contact with goalie Tuukka Rask prior to Matthews’ one-timer hitting mesh.

After a lengthy video review, the goal was upheld. Toronto went on to win the game 2-1 and take a 3-2 lead in the series.

“Clearly interferes with Tuukka,” Cassidy calmly stated post-game. “It goes to [the situation room in] Toronto, and they have to make a decision.

“I just hope they don’t predict whether they thought the goalie could make the save, get across on time. It’s either interference, or it’s not.

“[Hyman] pushes off Charlie [McAvoy] and then backs into Tuukka. From my viewpoint, it certainly looked like goaltender interference.”

Cassidy said he was not given an explanation from the referees.

The controversial goal prompted former NHL goalie Martin Biron and current Flyers netminders Cam Talbot and Mike McKenna to put the league’s decision on blast:

The NHL states the decision was made in accordance to Rule 78.7: “If a review is not conclusive and/or there is is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the original call on the ice will be confirmed.”

An officials supervisor follows each playoff series, and both coaching staffs are given an opportunity to raise their concerns.

“I’ve thought the officiating has been very good in this series,” Cassidy said. “We put our opinion out, and sometimes they let the referees know the temperature of the series. Sometimes they won’t.

“There’s a play the other night where Hyman cross-checks [Zdeno Chara] from behind in a 5-4 game in front of our net to try and create space. There’s a lot of net-front battles in there, and we talked about that, that it’s getting close to the goaltender.”

Rask said he felt Hyman contact his head and immediately let the referee know. He said it “wasn’t a major contact,” but believes he would’ve stopped Matthews’s shot if he wasn’t bumped.

“Yeah, I would’ve gotten a push because I saw the pass going that way, but it just kind of distracted me,” Rask said.

“You don’t want to start selling it. I guess if I just fell on my ass there, it might have been a different story.”

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.