Calgary Flames announce 2018-19 preseason schedule

Calgary Flames' Sean Monahan, left, celebrates his goal against the Anaheim Ducks with Johnny Gaudreau. (Larry MacDougal/CP)

The Calgary Flames announced their 2018-19 pre-season schedule on Thursday, with their first home game on Sept. 17 in a Battle of Alberta against the Edmonton Oilers at the Scotiabank Saddledome.

Calgary has a pair of games in China against the Boston Bruins, the first on Saturday, Sept. 15 in Shenzhen followed by a game in Beijing on Wednesday, Sept. 19.

The Flames will play a total of 10 pre-season games (four at the Scotiabank Saddledome and four on the road, in addition to the two games in China). Calgary’s opponents include the Bruins, Oilers, San Jose Sharks, Vancouver Canucks and Winnipeg Jets.

Calgary will also participate in a pair of rookie games against the Oilers. The Flames will host Edmonton at the Scotiabank Saddledome on Sunday, Sept. 9 and then play the ilers in Red Deer on Wednesday, Sept. 12 at the Enmax Centrium.

Here is the complete schedule:

Saturday, Sept. 15

Calgary Flames vs. Boston Bruins at Universiade Center in Shenzhen, China

Monday, Sept. 17

Calgary Flames vs. Edmonton Oilers

Wednesday, Sept. 19

Calgary Flames* at Boston Bruins at Cadillac Arena in Beijing, China

Wednesday, Sept. 19

Calgary Flames* at Vancouver Canucks

Friday, Sept. 21

Calgary Flames at Winnipeg Jets

Saturday, Sept. 22

Calgary Flames vs. Vancouver Canucks

Monday, Sept. 24

Calgary Flames vs. Winnipeg Jets

Tuesday, Sept. 25

Calgary Flames vs. San Jose Sharks

Thursday, Sept. 27

Calgary Flames at San Jose Sharks

Saturday, Sept. 29

Calgary Flames at Edmonton Oilers

*Two team/same day format

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.