Cherry and MacLean to be added to Canada’s Walk of Fame


TORONTO — Seven more names will be added to Canada’s Walk of Fame in Toronto today.

Hockey broadcasters Don Cherry and Ron MacLean are sharing a star and pop crooner Michael Buble will also be honoured at the annual awards gala.

Three-time Olympic medallist Silken Laumann, award-winning author Lawrence Hill, and actress Wendy Crewson are also getting their own stars.

The late actor Lorne Greene, known for his TV roles in "Bonanza" and "Battlestar Galactica," will receive a posthumous honour.

Shawn Mendes will also be receiving a special award from Canada’s Walk of Fame. The teen singer-songwriter has been selected as the recipient of the Allan Slaight honour, presented each year to a young Canadian making a positive impact in the music industry.

The award comes with a $10,000 honorarium and will be presented during the gala, to be hosted by Jason Priestley.

The induction ceremony will be televised Dec. 17 on Global.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.