Draisaitl, MacKinnon, Panarin voted Ted Lindsay Award finalists

Edmonton Oilers center Leon Draisaitl (29) (John Locher/AP)

Leon Draisaitl of the Edmonton Oilers, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers have been voted as the three finalists for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award.

The award goes “to the most outstanding player in the NHL,” as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. Draisaitl, MacKinnon and Panarin are all looking to capture their first Ted Lindsay Award.

The winner of the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award will be announced during the NHL’s Conference Finals.

Draisaitl, 24, led the NHL in scoring in 2019-20 with 110 points in 71 games, becoming the first German-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy. He led the league in points per game (1.55), assists (67) and power-play points (44), while tying for first in game-winning goals (10).

MacKinnon’s 93 points ranked fifth in league scoring, an astounding 43 points ahead of his closest Avalanche teammate. The 24-year-old led the NHL in shots on goal (318), placed third in even-strength points (62), fourth in power-play points (31) and tied for fifth in points per game (1.35).

In his first season with the Rangers, the 28-year-old Panarin led all NHLers in even-strength points (71), tied for second in assists (63), tied for third in points (95 points) and placed third in points per game (1.38), helping New York make a late-season push into the playoff picture, and eventually into the return-to-play qualifying round.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.