Giordano, Kucherov among PHWA’s NHL mid-season award winners


Calgary Flames Johnny Gaudreau (13) and Mark Giordano (5) celebrate a goal. (Jeffrey T. Barnes/AP)

As stars begin to emerge halfway through the NHL’s regular season, the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association has officially announced its mid-season award winners.

More than 125 writers representing all 31 teams completed ballots voting on 10 different awards, ranging from the traditional Hart Trophy as the league’s most valuable player to the unique Rod Langway Award for the defenceman who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.

It’s the second straight year the PHWA is handing out its mid-season awards. Last season, the results mirrored half of the year-end awards that the NHL hands out in June.

[snippet id=4269767]

There is plenty of room for debate, so without further ado, here’s the complete list of winners and runners-up.

Hart Trophy – to the player adjudged to be most valuable to his team.

1. Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
2. Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames
3. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Norris Trophy – to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-around ability in the position.

1. Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames
2. Morgan Rielly, Toronto Maple Leafs
3. Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks

Selke Trophy – to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

1. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
2. Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
3. Mark Stone, Ottawa Senators

Calder Trophy – to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition.

1. Elias Pettersson, Vancouver Canucks
2. Rasmus Dahlin, Buffalo Sabres
3. Miro Heiskanen, Dallas Stars

Lady Byng Trophy – to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

1. Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
2. Morgan Rielly, Toronto Maple Leafs
3. Sean Monahan, Calgary Flames

gibson mantha

Vezina Trophy – to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.

1. John Gibson, Anaheim Ducks
2. Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights
3. Frederik Andersen, Toronto Maple Leafs

Jack Adams Award – to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

1. Barry Trotz, New York Islanders
2. Bill Peters, Calgary Flames
3. Jon Cooper, Tampa Bay Lightning

GM of the Year Award – to the General Manager adjusted to have contributed most to his team’s success.

1. Brad Treliving, Calgary Flames
2. Doug Wilson, San Jose Sharks
3. Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders

Rod Langway Award – to the defenseman who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.

1. Mattias Ekholm, Nashville Predators
2. Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames
3. Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

Comeback Player of the Year Award – to the player who returned to a previous high level of performance that was interrupted by subpar play, long-term injury or major illness.

1. Robin Lehner, New York Islanders
2. Jeff Skinner, Buffalo Sabres
3. Zach Parise, Minnesota Wild


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.