Gotta See It: Missed offside call kills Flames

The referees missed this call and the Flames get hosed, as Patrick Marleau was clearly offside on Joe Pavelski’s game winning goal.

The hockey gods both giveth and taketh away. Or, as J.T. might say, what goes around comes around.*

Back in November, the San Jose Sharks were robbed of victory by a bad call in a game against the Buffalo Sabres.

And on Monday the Sharks benefited from an unblown whistle on the game-winner.

With the game knotted at two goals apiece and the Sharks with a man advantage in the second period, the Sharks stormed into the Calgary Flames’ zone. But as you can see below, San Jose forward Patrick Marleau was clearly offside during the play:


Once the Sharks gained the zone, Joe Thornton zipped a cross-ice feed to Joe Pavelski, who can do no wrong these days.

Pavelski, hot off Saturday’s natural hat trick against the Lightning, tipped the puck past goalie Karri Ramo to give the Sharks a 3-2 lead they would never relinquish.

Monday’s tainted affair marked Pavelski’s third multi-goal game in his past six contests. The forward has now scored an incredible 18 goals in his last 20 games and is only four goals shy of equaling his career-best 31 set in 2011-12.

The good news for the Flames? The loss does improve their lottery chances, and San Jose coach Todd McLellan had no reason to attack anybody in the hallway.

*any excuse to watch Scarlett Johansson.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.