How the NHL’s new 3-on-3 All-Star tournament works

No one would deny that the NHL All-star Game needed some tweaking. But instead of a tweak, the NHL gave the format a complete overhaul.

The NHL has made drastic changes to its All-Star Game format.

Rather than the traditional Eastern Conference vs. Western Conference matchup, the NHL has transformed the All-Star Game into a 3-on-3 tournament, beginning in 2016 in Nashville, Tenn.

According to Wednesday’s NHL press release, the new format will divide the All-Star Game into three 20-minute games, which will feature four teams: one team per division.

The Central Division All-Stars will face the Pacific Division All-Stars in one semi-final game, with the Atlantic Division facing the Metropolitan Division in the other. The two winners will then face off in the final, where they’ll compete for a prize of $1 million.

Teams will change ends at the 10-minute mark of each game and if any game is tied after 20 minutes, it will be decided by a shootout.

Each team will consist of 11 players: six forwards, three defencemen, and two goaltenders.

Fans will be able to vote for their top All-Star (and captain) for each division, regardless of position, with the remaining 40 All-Stars being determined by the NHL hockey operations department.

The 2016 All-Star skills competition will remain an Eastern Conference vs. Western Conference event, with the winning conference earning the right to select when their semi-final matchup will be played — first or second on the following day.

The skills competition will take place at Bridgestone Arena at 7 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 30. The 2016 All-Star Game will take place at 6 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 31.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.