Gaudreau glided slowly towards the Wild net, deked to his left and outwaited Alex Stalock before gently lifting the puck over the netminder and across the goal-line.
The Wild bench thought Gaudreau’s move was illegal because at first glance it appeared the winger might have been moving backwards just before scoring.
Within Rule 24.2 in the penalty shot section of the official NHL Rulebook states: “…The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal-line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. …”
Although Gaudreau was moving away from the net, officials ruled the puck continued to move towards the goal-line.
The controversy was ultimately short-lived since the Wild bounced back to win the shootout.
Have a look at the goal above and have your say below.