McDavid, Crosby, Holtby claim NHL hardware after season’s end

Connor McDavid reached the 100-point mark, the Leafs lost to Columbus and Ottawa fell to the Islanders.

The conclusion of the NHL season means three awards have already been determined.

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid, Pittsburgh Penguins counterpart Sidney Crosby and Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby have all staked their claim to some stats-based hardware.

McDavid earned his first Art Ross Trophy as the scoring champion. The 20-year-old centre – who’s in just his second NHL season – recorded 100 points, including a league-best 70 assists. McDavid bested Crosby and Chicago Blackhawks right-winger Patrick Kane by 11 points for top spot.

Crosby won the Rocket Richard Trophy, awarded to the top goal scorer. Crosby scored 44 goals. He also shared the award with Tampa Bay Lightning centre Steven Stamkos in 2009-10. Tampa Bay’s Nikita Kucherov and Toronto rookie Auston Matthews each tied for second with 40 goals.

Holtby won the William Jennings Trophy, given to the team with the fewest goals against allowed. The Capitals surrendered 182 goals, 13 fewer than the Columbus Blue Jackets. Backup Philipp Grubauer finished one game shy of the 25-game threshold for qualifying to have his name engraved on the award.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.