McDavid, Kane, Kucherov announced as finalists for Ted Lindsay award


Edmonton Oilers' Connor McDavid celebrates his goal against the Ottawa Senators. (Jeff McIntosh/CP)

NEW YORK — Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid is among the finalists for the Ted Lindsay award for a third straight season.

The NHL Players’ Association announced McDavid as a finalist Thursday along with Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks and Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning. The award is presented annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

McDavid won the award in back-to-back seasons (2016-17, 2017-18) while Kane is seeking his second Ted Lindsay (2015-16) in four seasons after becoming the only U.S.-born player to receive the award.

Kucherov is a first-time Ted Lindsay finalist.

The recipient will be announced June 19 during the 2019 NHL Awards.

Kane played in 81 regular-season games for the Blackhawks and led his team in goals (44), assists (66) and points (110).

Kucherov played in all 82 regular-season games to help the Presidents’ Trophy-winning Lightning tie a league-best record of 62 wins, while capturing his first Art Ross Trophy. The 25-year-old scored a career-high 128 points to set a new single-season scoring record for the most by a Russian-born player.

McDavid played in 78 regular-season games for Edmonton, leading the team in scoring (116 points). He matched his goal total (41) from last season to earn a share of sixth place in the NHL and his 75 assists ranked second in the league and set a new career-high mark.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.