Montreal Canadiens release 2017 rookie camp roster

Michael McNiven of the Owen Sound Attack. (Terry Wilson/OHL Images)

The Montreal Canadiens have announced a roster of 23 players who will take part in the team’s rookie camp and play at a three-day prospects tournament that will run from Sept. 8-10 at Ricoh Coliseum.

With former top prospect Mikhail Sergachev traded to Tampa Bay for Jonathan Drouin, the Canadiens have a few other interesting names to keep an eye on. Noah Juulsen, Montreal’s first-round pick (26th overall) from 2015 will be in attendance, as he starts on his first pro season after finishing with the WHL’s Everett Silvertips. The team’s 2017 first-rounder Ryan Poehling, an NCAA player, will not be there, but second-rounder Josh Brook — a defenceman from the WHL’s Moose Jaw Warriors — will be.

Also of note is goaltender Michael McNiven, who Don Cherry last year said was as good as Carey Price. The 20-year-old was never drafted, but was a leader for the OHL’s Owen Sound Attack, posting a .915 save percentage last season.

Here are the players who will attend the camp:

Jeremiah Addison
Alexandre Alain
Daniel Audette
Will Bitten
Jordan Boucher
Thomas Ebbing
Maxime Fortier
Alexandre Goulet
James McEwen
Niki Petti
Michael Pezzetta
Martin Reway
Antoine Waked

Simon Bourque
Josh Brook
Cale Fleury
Noah Juulsen
Stefan Leblanc
Victor Mete
Jarret Tyszka
Scott Walford

Michael McNiven
Antoine Samuel

Prospects for the Leafs, Senators and Habs will play each other once across three days at this year’s rookie tournament. The schedule for that event is as follows:

Friday, Sept. 8: Montreal vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 9: Ottawa vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 10: Toronto vs. Ottawa, 4 p.m.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.