NHL announces 2019 All-Star Weekend rosters

Brian Burke makes a case for the NHL ditching the idea of every team being represented at the All-Star Game, preferring to select players entirely based on merit.

The NHL released its 2019 All-Star Game rosters on Wednesday.

A fan vote determined each division’s team captain, the results of which were released last week. The NHL’s Hockey Operations department has selected most of the rest of the rosters, but this year will add a new wrinkle: Fans will also be able to vote on the “last man in” on each division’s roster.

Each club is represented during All-Star Weekend, which runs Jan. 25-26 in San Jose. The skills competition takes place on Jan. 25 and the all-star 3-on-3 tournament goes the following day.

Here is the full list of all-star players to date, followed by the list of players eligible to be the last man in for each division.

* Indicates team captain

Atlantic Division (All-Star Appearance)
* Auston Matthews, TOR (3rd)
Jack Eichel, BUF (2nd)
Nikita Kucherov, TBL (3rd)
David Pastrnak, BOS (1st)
Steven Stamkos, TBL (6th)
John Tavares, TOR (6th)
Thomas Chabot, OTT (1st)
Keith Yandle, FLA (3rd)
Jimmy Howard, DET (2nd)
Carey Price, MTL (7th)

Central Division (All-Star Appearance)
* Nathan MacKinnon, COL (3rd)
Patrick Kane, CHI (8th)
Ryan O’Reilly, STL (2nd)
Mikko Rantanen, COL (1st)
Mark Scheifele, WPG (1st)
Blake Wheeler, WPG (2nd)
Miro Heiskanen, DAL (1st)
Roman Josi, NSH (2nd)
Devan Dubnyk, MIN (3rd)
Pekka Rinne, NSH (3rd)

Metropolitan Division (All-Star Appearance)
* Sidney Crosby, PIT (4th)
Sebastian Aho, CAR (1st)
Cam Atkinson, CBJ (2nd)
Mathew Barzal, NYI (1st)
Claude Giroux, PHI (6th)
Taylor Hall, NJD (3rd)
John Carlson, WSH (1st)
Seth Jones, CBJ (2nd)
Braden Holtby, WSH (4th)
Henrik Lundqvist, NYR (5th)

Pacific Division (All-Star Appearance)
* Connor McDavid, EDM (3rd)
Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (5th)
Clayton Keller, ARI (1st)
Joe Pavelski, SJS (3rd)
Elias Pettersson, VAN (1st)
Brent Burns, SJS (6th)
Drew Doughty, LAK (5th)
Erik Karlsson, SJS (6th)
Marc-Andre Fleury, VGK (4th)
John Gibson, ANA (2nd)

The following players are on the ballot to be the Last Men In. One player from each division will be chosen by fans to go to the game.

2019 NHL All-Star Last Men In presented by Adidas

Atlantic Division

Boston Bruins: Patrice Bergeron (F)

Buffalo Sabres: Jeff Skinner (F)

Detroit Red Wings: Dylan Larkin (F)

Florida Panthers: Aleksander Barkov (F)

Montreal Canadiens: Shea Weber (D)

Ottawa Senators: Mark Stone (F)

Tampa Bay Lightning: Brayden Point (F)

Toronto Maple Leafs: Morgan Rielly (D)

Central Division

Chicago Blackhawks: Jonathan Toews (F)

Colorado Avalanche: Gabriel Landeskog (F)

Dallas Stars: Tyler Seguin (F)

Minnesota Wild: Zach Parise (F)

Nashville Predators: Filip Forsberg (F)

St. Louis Blues: Vladimir Tarasenko (F)

Winnipeg Jets: Patrik Laine (F)

Metropolitan Division

Carolina Hurricanes: Teuvo Teravainen (F)

Columbus Blue Jackets: Nick Foligno (F)

New Jersey Devils: Kyle Palmieri (F)

New York Islanders: Anders Lee (F)

New York Rangers: Mats Zuccarello (F)

Philadelphia Flyers: Jakub Voracek (F)

Pittsburgh Penguins: Kris Letang (D)

Washington Capitals: Nicklas Backstrom (F)

Pacific Division

Anaheim Ducks: Ryan Getzlaf (F)

Arizona Coyotes: Oliver Ekman-Larsson (D)

Calgary Flames: Mark Giordano (D)

Edmonton Oilers: Leon Draisaitl (F)

Los Angeles Kings: Anze Kopitar (F)

San Jose Sharks: Logan Couture (F)

Vancouver Canucks: Brock Boeser (F)

Vegas Golden Knights: Jonathan Marchessault (F)


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.