Crosby absent as NHL names 2016 All-Stars

HC at Noon announce the 2016 NHL All-Star roster and talk about some of the surprising decisions, including Sidney Crosby and Henrik Lundqvist not going and Leo Komarov going to Nashville.

The sweaters are ready and the captains have been set. Now, for the all-stars themselves.

The NHL released the roster for the 2016 All-Star weekend Wednesday. Each team has six forwards, three defencemen and two goaltenders. A quick glance reveals one rather large omission, as Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby was left off the list.

Crosby, has a dozen goals and 19 assists in 38 games this season, and currently has five goals and seven points in his last four matchups.

Here’s the full list of players, as well as each team’s coach, who will be making the trip to Nashville:

Atlantic Division
Jaromir Jagr (FLA)*
Patrice Bergeron (BOS)
Leo Komarov (TOR)
Dylan Larkin (DET)
Ryan O’Reilly (BUF)
Steven Stamkos (TBL)

Aaron Ekblad (FLA)
Erik Karlsson (OTT)
P.K. Subban (MTL)

Ben Bishop (TBL)
Roberto Luongo (FLA)

Coach: Gerard Gallant (FLA)

Central Division
Jamie Benn (DAL)
Matt Duchene (COL)
Patrick Kane (CHI)*
Tyler Seguin (DAL)
Vladimir Tarasenko (STL)
Jonathan Toews (CHI)

Dustin Byfuglien (WPG)
Roman Josi (NSH)
Shea Weber (NSH)

Devan Dubnyk (MIN)
Pekka Rinne (NSH)

Coach: Lindy Ruff (DAL)

Metropolitan Division
Nicklas Backstrom (WSH)
Claude Giroux (PHI)
Evgeni Malkin (PIT)
Alex Ovechkin (WSH)*
Brandon Saad (CBJ)
John Tavares (NYI)

Justin Faulk (CAR)
Kris Letang (PIT)
Ryan McDonagh (NYR)

Braden Holtby (WSH)
Cory Schneider (NJD)

Coach: Barry Trotz (WSH)

Pacific Division
Johnny Gaudreau (CGY)
Taylor Hall (EDM)
Joe Pavelski (SJS)
Corey Perry (ANA)
John Scott (ARI)*
Daniel Sedin (VAN)

Brent Burns (SJS)
Drew Doughty (LAK)
Mark Giordano (CGY)

John Gibson (ANA)
Jonathan Quick (LAK)

Coach: Darryl Sutter (LAK)

(* Fan-elected captain)

On Saturday, the league released the results of the All-Star fan vote, which decided the team captain for each division’s team.

Washington Capitals’ Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan), Chicago Blackhawks’ Patrick Kane (Central), Florida Panthers’ Jaromir Jagr (Atlantic), and Arizona Coyotes’ John Scott (Pacific) were named division captains.

Got questions about this year’s All-Star event? Read our FAQ.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.