NHL unveils schedule for first 10 days of Stanley Cup Qualifiers

The NHL makes it official. David Amber, Elliotte Friedman and Chris Johnston break down the CBA extension, then unpack all the important dates released on Friday, including training camp, the return to game action, and the NHL Draft.

The NHL took massive strides towards resuming its season Friday night, with the league and players association ratifying a return-to-play plan and new CBA extension.

While COVID-19 will ultimately dictate whether the ambitious plan will work or not, the blueprint for a summer unlike any other in hockey history has been mapped out — including schedule for the first 10 days of the Stanley Cup Qualifiers.

Games schedule

The Stanley Cup qualifying round will feature the 16 teams vying to win a best-of-five series which will determine the eight teams that advance to the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Games will begin on Aug. 1 and will conclude no later than Aug. 9, depending on how many games are needed to crown a winner in each series.

East qualifying round, taking place in Toronto

• Aug. 1: New York Rangers vs. Carolina Hurricanes, Florida Panthers vs. New York Islanders, Montreal Canadiens vs. Pittsburgh Penguins

• Aug. 2: Columbus Blue Jackets vs. Toronto Maple Leafs

• Aug. 3: Rangers vs. Hurricanes, Canadiens vs. Penguins

• Aug. 4: Blue Jackets vs. Maple Leafs, Hurricanes vs. Rangers, Panthers vs. Islanders

• Aug. 5: Islanders vs. Panthers, Penguins vs. Canadiens

• Aug. 6: Maple Leafs vs. Blue Jackets

Additional games will be played between Aug. 6 and 9, if needed.

West qualifying round, taking place in Edmonton

• Aug. 1: Chicago Blackhawks vs. Edmonton Oilers, Winnipeg Jets vs. Calgary Flames

• Aug. 2: Arizona Coyotes vs. Nashville Predators, Minnesota Wild vs. Vancouver Canucks

• Aug. 3: Blackhawks vs. Oilers, Jets vs. Flames

• Aug. 4: Coyotes vs. Predators, Wild vs. Canucks, Flames vs. Jets

• Aug. 5: Predators vs. Coyotes, Oilers vs. Blackhawks

• Aug. 6: Canucks vs. Wild

Additional games will be played between Aug. 6 and 9, if needed.

The round robin tournament of the Stanley Cup qualifiers, featuring the top four teams from each conference, will determine seeding for the playoffs and is slated to begin on Aug. 2. Three games will be played by each team, with each hub city hosting one round robin tournament.

East round robin, taking place in Toronto

• Aug. 2: Philadelphia Flyers vs. Boston Bruins

• Aug. 3: Washington Capitals vs. Tampa Bay Lightning

• Aug. 5: Lightning vs. Bruins

• Aug. 6: Capitals vs. Flyers

• Aug. 8: Bruins vs. Capitals

• Aug. 9: Flyers vs. Lightning

West round robin, taking place in Edmonton

• Aug. 2: St. Louis Blues vs. Colorado Avalanche

• Aug. 3: Dallas Stars vs. Vegas Golden Knights

• Aug. 5: Avalanche vs. Stars

• Aug. 6: Golden Knights vs. Blues

• Aug. 8: Golden Knights vs. Avalanche

• Aug. 9: Stars vs. Blues

All teams participating in either the round robin or the qualifying round’s best-of-five series are considered to have made the post-season and participated in a post-season series for record keeping and statistics purposes, according to the league.

Games in Toronto will take place at 12 p.m., 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. ET. Games in Edmonton for the Western Conference will take place at 2 p.m., 6:30 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. ET.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.