No supplemental discipline for Pavel Datsyuk after Chris Kunitz hit

Judge for yourself. The officials sent Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings to the penalty box after the Pittsburgh Penguins' Chris Kunitz took the worst of a collision. But was it a hit to the head?

Pavel Datsyuk‘s apparent high hit on Chris Kunitz Saturday had some wondering if the Detroit Red Wings forward might be getting a call from the NHL’s player safety department.

According to Sportsnet’s Elliotte Friedman, that will not be the case.

“No supplemental discipline for Datsyuk, who took a two-minute interference penalty,” Friedman said during Saturday’s Headlines segment. “He’ll be free to play Monday against Buffalo.”

As for Kunitz, who looked shaken up after the incident and left the Pittsburgh Penguins‘ eventual 7-2 victory, Friedman said he is listed as questionable ahead of Sunday’s game against the New York Rangers.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.