Oilers name Darnell Nurse, Leon Draisaitl alternate captains

Gene Principe explains if Connor McDavid and the Edmonton Oilers can turn things around quickly in hopes of making the NHL Playoffs.

The Edmonton Oilers named forward Leon Draisaitl and defenceman Darnell Nurse as alternate captains Tuesday after unveiling the opening-night roster for the 2019-20 season.

Draisaitl was selected third overall by the Oilers in 2013 while Nurse was taken by the team with the seventh-overall pick the following year and both have become integral to the team’s success.

Connor McDavid remains the captain — no surprise there — and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins will wear an ‘A’ for a seventh season. Also, Adam Larsson is entering his third season as an Oilers alternate captain.

The Oilers finalized their roster with 14 forwards, seven blueliners and two netminders with Riley Sheahan, Kyle Brodziak, Logan Day and Joel Persson occupying spots on injured reserve.

Forwards: Josh Archibald, Colby Cave, Alex Chiasson, Leon Draisaitl, Markus Granlund, Gaetan Haas, Tomas Jurco, Zack Kassian, Jujhar Khaira, Connor McDavid, James Neal, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Joakim Nygard, Patrick Russell

Defencemen: Ethan Bear, Matt Benning, Oscar Klefbom, Adam Larsson, Brandon Manning, Darnell Nurse, Kris Russell

Goalies: Mikko Koskinen, Mike Smith

The Oilers open the 2019-20 regular season Wednesday against the Vancouver Canucks.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.