Should Patric Hornqvist’s shot have been ruled a goal?

Patric Hornqvist seemingly cuts the Capitals lead in half after potting in what he thinks is a good goal. However, after review the play would be deemed 'inconclusive' and the goal would not stand, leaving the Penguins stunned.

We have a good controversy in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, one that thankfully doesn’t involve goaltender interference.

The Pittsburgh Penguins thought they scored on Sunday in Game 2 of their second-round series against the Washington Capitals, when Patric Hornqvist jammed a puck into the pad of Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby off a Sidney Crosby wraparound attempt.

A good chunk of Holtby’s leg was indeed in the net, and certain replays did appear to show the puck over the goal-line.

Alas, with no overhead angle to get a conclusive look, the NHL’s situation room in Toronto confirmed the on-ice officials’ initial ruling of no-goal.

The almost-score, which came with just about 11 minutes left in the game, would have made it a 3-2 contest with the Penguins carrying all the momentum coming back from what had been a three-goal deficit. This after riding a third-period comeback to victory in Game 1 of the series.

“My thought was it was 100 per cent a goal … that’s how we saw it,” said Penguins coach Mike Sullivan after the game. “So, we respectfully disagree with the league and their ruling.”

Crosby, seen arguing with the refs after the final decision was made, told reporters: “I don’t know the angles that they had. But the one I saw it had to be a goal.”

The Capitals eventually iced the game with an empty-netter to head into Tuesday’s Game 3 in Pittsburgh tied 1-1 in the series.

What did you think of the call?

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.