Penguins burned once again as questionable call nullifies goal

Evgeni Malkin was ruled to be off side after lifting his skate while straddling the blue line, costing Patric Hornqvist a goal against the Stars.

For the second straight night, the Pittsburgh Penguins had a goal waved off due to a controversial call. And once again, the questionable officiating drew the ire of the Twitterverse.

While Saturday’s iteration saw Pittsburgh’s Brian Dumoulin lose a tally due to goaltender interference — despite being pushed into the net by Toronto’s Ron Hainsey — Sunday saw the offside rule keep Pittsburgh’s offence in check.

The play in question came late in the second period of Pittsburgh’s game against the Dallas Stars, when Patric Hornqvist finished off a passing play to put the Penguins up 3-1. The score was quickly run back to 2-1, however, when it was deemed Evgeni Malkin stepped offside just prior, while straddling the Stars’ blue line before entering the zone.

Twitter wasn’t having any of it, as members of the media and fans alike expressed their discontent.

Pittsburgh went on to win 3-1 after all, with Malkin tallying the final goal courtesy of an empty-netter. Though some Penguins fans had reason to be cautious before celebrating the closing goal.

Watch the replay in the video at the top of this post and weigh in below:

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.