Price, Dubnyk, Rinne named Vezina Trophy finalists


Carey Price. (Marcio Jose Sanchez/AP)

Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens, Devan Dubnyk of the Minnesota Wild and Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators are the three finalists for the Vezina Trophy, the NHL announced on Friday.

Price led all qualified goalies in wins (44), save percentage (.933) and goals-against average (1.96), becoming the first goaltender since Ed Belfour in 1990-91 to finish atop all three categories. He posted the third-highest save percentage since the league began tracking the stat in 1976-77.

Dubnyk, a first-time Vezina finalist, went 27-9-2 and posted five shutouts following a mid-season trade from the Arizona Coyotes. Dubnyk finished second in goals-against average, second in save percentage, and ranked in the top-10 and both shutouts and wins.

Rinne is a Vezina finalist for the third time. He led the Predators to their fifth 100-point season in franchise history. Rinne went 41-17-6 with a .923 save percentage and 2.18 goals-against average. He finished second in voting in both 2011 and 2013.

The general managers of the 30 NHL clubs submitted ballots for the Vezina Trophy at the conclusion of the 2014-15 regular season.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.