Report: Wilson will not receive hearing for hit on Marchessault

Jonathan Marchessault had to head off the ice after being blindsided by Tom Wilson, who eventually got a penalty as a result of the referees having a long discussion.

Washington Capitals forward Tom Wilson will not have a hearing with the NHL’s department of player safety for his hit on Vegas Golden Knights‘ Jonathan Marchessault.

The incident occurred in the third period of Game 1 of the Stanley Cup final. Marchessault crossed centre ice and made a pass to teammate Reilly Smith before Wilson came in and laid a late hit to the blindside of Marchessault.

The 27-year-old stayed on the ice for some time and Wilson was eventually assessed a two-minute penalty for interference.

This will be the fourth controversial hit laid by the Capitals’ forward in just these playoffs.

In the first round he delivered the Columbus Blue Jackets’ Alexander Wennberg a blindside hit. In the second round he was the subject of two questionable incidents, the first involving Brian Dumoulin and the second with Zach Aston-Reese, the latter of which he was assessed a three-game suspension.

After the game on Monday, Marchessault told reporters that he expected the league would deal with the hit.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.