Ron and Don: Cherry accuses Preds’ Subban of diving against Jets

Don talks about the referees missing obvious dives from the Predators, allowing PK Subban to score in Game 7.

P.K. Subban got the Nashville Predators on the board with a power-play marker late in the first period of Thursday’s Game 7 against the Winnipeg Jets but the goal wasn’t without some controversy.

Subban went down after being nudged by Jets forward Kyle Connor, who was subsequently called for a cross-checking minor. Less than a minute later Subban scored his fourth of the post-season, which did not sit well with Don Cherry, who accused Subban of embellishing.

“The players know when to dive and I’ve known Subban ever since he was a little kid and I really like him,” Cherry said while analyzing the penalty during Coach’s Corner. “He’s smart [but] look at that! It’s the seventh game! Look at the dive! And then look who scores the goal!

“He should’ve been in [the penalty box] for diving.”

The goal gave the Predators some much-needed momentum heading into the second period as Nashville was down 2-0 at the time after Pekka Rinne was pulled for allowing two ugly goals on seven shots.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.