Yashin, Daigle among players named to Senators’ Alumni Classic roster

Gary Bettman and Geoff Molson discuss the effort that went i to holding an outdoor game in the Montreal Canadiens' centennial year, however, it did not come to pass.

One day before the Ottawa Senators host the Montreal Canadiens in the 2017 Scotiabank NHL 100 Classic outdoors at Lansdowne Park, Sens fans will get to see dozens of familiar faces during a split squad Alumni Classic.

The alumni game will be played Dec. 15 at the Canada 150 Rink on the southeast lawn of Parliament Hill in Ottawa and the franchise announced its roster of participating players Friday.

The list includes some names Sens fans might not have heard in a while, like Alexandre Daigle and Alexei Yashin, plus longstanding fan favourites like Daniel Alfredsson, Chris Phillips and Mike Fisher among others.

Alfredsson and Phillips will serve as captains for the intrasquad teams. There will be a draft for the Alumni Classic the night prior to the game during which the two longest-tenured Senators will select their skaters and goalies. There will be 19 forwards, 11 blueliners and four netminders to choose from.

Here’s a look at the full roster of players that combined for 1,761 goals, 3,071 assists, 4,832 points and 299 wins in 10,315 career games with the Senators.

Player Position Years spent with Sens
Daniel Alfredsson Forward 1995-2013
Magnus Arvedson Forward 1997-2003
Radek Bonk Forward 1994-2004
Laurie Boschman Forward 1992-1993
Randy Cunneyworth Forward 1994-1998
Alexandre Daigle Forward 1993-1998
Shean Donovan Forward 2007-2010
Mike Fisher Forward 1999-2011
Denis Hamel Forward 2003-2007
Martin Havlat Forward 2000-2006
Denny Lambert Forward 1996-1998
Rob Murphy Forward 1992-1993
Randy Robitaille Forward 2007-2008
Bryan Smolinski Forward 2002-2006
Brad Smyth Forward 2002-2003
Shaun Van Allen Forward 1996-’00/’02-’04
Todd White Forward 2000-2004
Alexei Yashin Forward 1993-2001
Rob Zamuner Forward 1999-2001
Brendan Bell Defenceman 2008-2009
Filip Kuba Defenceman 2008-2012
Jim Kyte Defenceman 1992-1993
Janne Laukkanen Defenceman 1995-2000
Curtis Leschyshyn Defenceman 2000-2004
Norm Maciver Defenceman 1992-1995
Chris Phillips Defenceman 1997-2015
Lance Pitlick Defenceman 1994-1999
Wade Redden Defenceman 1996-2008
Dennis Vial Defenceman 1993-1998
Jason York Defenceman 1996-2001
Patrick Lalime Goalie 1999-2004
Pascal Leclaire Goalie 2009-2011
Damian Rhodes Goalie 1995-1999
Ron Tugnutt Goalie 1996-2000


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.