Blue Jays' Marcus Semien among 2021 Gold Glove winners

2021 2nd base Gold Glove winner Marcus Semien says he's a middle infielder and would be super comfortable at either position, even though he's coming off his first Gold Glove at 2nd base for the Blue Jays.

Toronto Blue Jays second baseman Marcus Semien has won a Gold Glove award after his first season playing the position.

MLB and Rawlings announced the 18 Gold Glove winners on Sunday.

Semien joined the Blue Jays for the 2021 season on a one-year contract and switched to second after playing shortstop for the first eight years of his MLB career. Semien appeared in all 162 games for the Blue Jays this season -- including 147 at second base -- and posted a .985 fielding percentage with just eight errors. At the plate he put up MVP-type numbers, hitting .265/.334/.538 with 39 home runs and 102 RBIs.

Semien is the 11th different player and third second baseman to win a Gold Glove in Blue Jays history. Blue Jays left fielder Lourdes Gurriel Jr. and starting pitcher Jose Berrios were also finalists.

Other American League Gold Glove winners included Athletics third baseman Matt Chapman winning for the third time, Astros star shortstop Carlos Correa winning for the first time and right fielder Joey Gallo -- who split the season between the Rangers and Yankees -- won the award for the second time.

On the National League side, Nolan Arenado won his ninth-straight Gold Glove at third base in his first season with the Cardinals. Ichiro Suzuki (10 straight) is the only player to win more consecutive Gold Glove awards to start their career. Arenado was one of five Cardinals to win the award -- an MLB record -- including Tyler O'Neill from Maple Ridge, B.C. O'Neill joins Hall of Famer Larry Walker as the only Canadians to win more than one Gold Glove award in their career.

Below are the finalists and winners of each Gold Glove award. The winning player is in italics.

American League

José Berríos, Toronto Blue Jays
Zack Greinke, Houston Astros
Dallas Keuchel, Chicago White Sox

Martín Maldonado, Houston Astros
Sean Murphy, Oakland Athletics
Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

First Base
Yuli Gurriel, Houston Astros
Matt Olson, Oakland Athletics
Jared Walsh, Los Angeles Angels

Second Base
David Fletcher, Los Angeles Angels
Whit Merrifield, Kansas City Royals
Marcus Semien, Toronto Blue Jays

Third Base
Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics
José Ramírez, Cleveland Indians
Joey Wendle, Tampa Bay Rays

Carlos Correa, Houston Astros
J.P. Crawford, Seattle Mariners
Andrelton Simmons, Minnesota Twins

Left Field
Randy Arozarena, Tampa Bay Rays
Andrew Benintendi, Kansas City Royals
Lourdes Gurriel Jr., Toronto Blue Jays

Center Field
Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays
Myles Straw, Cleveland Indians
Michael A. Taylor, Kansas City Royals

Right Field
Joey Gallo, New York Yankees
Hunter Renfroe, Boston Red Sox
Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros

National League

Zach Davies, Chicago Cubs
Max Fried, Atlanta Braves
Zack Wheeler, Philadelphia Phillies

Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies
Jacob Stallings, Pittsburgh Pirates

First Base
Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
Paul Goldschmidt, St. Louis Cardinals
Max Muncy, Los Angeles Dodgers

Second Base
Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves
Tommy Edman, St. Louis Cardinals
Kolten Wong, Milwaukee Brewers

Third Base
Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals
Manny Machado, San Diego Padres
Ryan McMahon, Colorado Rockies

Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants
Francisco Lindor, New York Mets
Kevin Newman, Pittsburgh Pirates

Left Field
Tyler O’Neill, St. Louis Cardinals
David Peralta, Arizona Diamondbacks
AJ Pollock, Los Angeles Dodgers

Center Field
Harrison Bader, St. Louis Cardinals
Jackie Bradley Jr., Milwaukee Brewers
Bryan Reynolds, Pittsburgh Pirates

Right Field
Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers
Adam Duvall, Atlanta Braves
Mike Yastrzemski, San Francisco Giants

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.