Blue Jays acquire catcher Zack Collins from White Sox for Reese McGuire

Toronto Blue Jays catcher Reese McGuire loosens up during full squad workouts at the team's spring training complex in Dunedin, Fla., on Wednesday, February 19, 2020. McGuire has pleaded no contest to a disorderly conduct charge — a second-degree misdemeanour — and paid fines totalling US$500 stemming from an incident in Florida last February. (Steve Nesius/CP)

The Toronto Blue Jays have traded Reese McGuire to the Chicago White Sox in exchange for fellow catcher Zack Collins.

The Blue Jays also announced that they optioned right-hander Anthony Castro to triple-A Buffalo in a corresponding move.

McGuire, 27, played in 141 career big-league games with the Blue Jays spanning four seasons. He batted .253/.310/.343 with one home run and 10 RBI in 78 games with Toronto during the 2021 campaign.

Collins, 27, debuted with the White Sox in 2019 and has made 114 appearances in the majors. He batted .210/.330/.338 to go with four home runs and 26 RBI in 2021.

The Blue Jays open their 2022 regular season this Friday at home against the Texas Rangers. You can watch the game live on Sportsnet with coverage starting at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT with a special edition of Tim and Friends live from the Rogers Centre followed by a one-hour edition of Blue Jays Central at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.