Bellator 221: Patricio ‘Pitbull’ TKOs Chandler, Lima KOs Page


Patricio “Pitbull” Freire holds his Bellator MMA featherweight and lightweight championship belts after beating Michael Chandler at Bellator 221. (Photo courtesy Bellator MMA)

Bellator 221 is in the books and it was quite the show.

The main event saw current featherweight titleholder Patricio “Pitbull” Freire move up a weight class to challenge lightweight kingpin Michael Chandler in a champion vs. champion superfight and it was the smaller man who emerged victorious.

Freire (29-4) earned a technical knockout victory just 61 seconds into the first round. The win avenged a knockout loss suffered by Freire’s older brother Patricky when he fought Chandler back in 2016.

In the co-main event, Douglas Lima put Michael “Venom” Page to sleep early in the second round of their weltweight tournament bout.

Also on the card, which took place at Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Ill., rising 145-pound contender A.J. McKee improved to 14-0. He defeated former champion Pat Curran.

Jake Hager, known to some as Jack Swagger from his days as a WWE star, picked up the second victory of his professional mixed martial arts career.

Here’s a look at the complete Bellator 221 results, as provided by the MMA organization.

— Patricio “Pitbull” Freire (28-4) defeated Michael Chandler (19-4) via KO (punches) at 1:01 of round one
— Douglas Lima (31-7) defeated Michael “Venom” Page (14-1) via KO (punches) at :35 of round two
— A.J. McKee (14-0) defeated Pat Curran (23-8) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
— Jake Hager (2-0) vs. T.J. Jones (1-1) submission (head and arm choke) at 2:36 of round one
— Tywan Claxton (5-0) defeated James Bennett (4-2) via TKO (punches) at 2:09 of round three

— Cris Lencioni (5-2) defeated Adil Benjilany (5-2, 1 NC) via submission (triangle choke) at 4:55 of round one
— Chris Gonzalez (2-0) defeated Charlie Radtke (2-2) via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
— Rob Fenicle (2-0) defeated Bryan Bautista (1-1) via submission (heel hook) at 1:42 of round one
— Amartuvshin Khuukhenkhuu (10-4) defeated Adam Ward (18-12) via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
— Christian Rodriguez (1-0) defeated Jose Leon (0-1) via submission (armbar) at 4:39 of round one
— Robert Morrow (29-24-1) defeated James Bochnovic (9-4) via KO (punches) at 1:18 of round one
— Dave Latoria (0-0, 1 NC) and Jason Belyew (0-1, 1 NC) was ruled a no-contest due to an unintentional low blow
— Jesse Bazzi (10-6) defeated Joey Diehl (12-10) via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
— Josh Streacker (6-2) defeated Scott Writz (2-1) via KO (punch) at 3:33 of round two

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.