Curry, Jackson among 9 picked for boxing Hall of Fame


In this Aug. 23, 1986, file photo, Mike McCallum, left, of Jamaica, keeps Julian Jackson against the ropes in a World Boxing Association junior middleweight title boxing bout. Jackson was inducted into the boxing hall of fame on Dec. 5, 2018. (Joe Skipper, File/AP)

CANASTOTA, N.Y. — Two-division champions Donald Curry, Julian Jackson and James "Buddy" McGirt have been selected for induction into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

Also to be enshrined are welterweight champion Tony DeMarco in the old-timer category, promoter Don Elbaum, referee/judge Guy Jutras, publicist Lee Samuels and broadcaster Teddy Atlas in the nonparticipants and observers category.

Journalist Mario Rivera Martino was selected posthumously in the observer category.

Inductees were voted in by members of the Boxing Writers Association and a panel of international boxing historians. The induction ceremony is June 9 in Canastota, New York.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.