Devils add five more players to COVID list, bringing total to 14

New Jersey Devils centre Jack Hughes. (Chris Carlson/AP)

The New Jersey Devils added five more players to the league's COVID Protocol List on Tuesday, taking the organization's total number to 14 players.

Jack Hughes, Jesper Bratt, Damon Severson, Ty Smith and Matt Tennyson were the five players added, while Mackenzie Blackwood was taken off the protocol list Tuesday.

All told, the team's list now consists of the following players: Jesper Bratt, Connor Carrick, Aaron Dell, Jack Hughes, Andreas Johnsson, Janne Kuokkanen, Michael McLeod, Kyle Palmieri, Damon Severson, Ty Smith, Matt Tennyson, Sami Vatanen, Pavel Zacha and Travis Zajac.

On Monday, the league announced the Devils would not play any games until Feb. 6 at the earliest, with the club's number of players on the protocol list at 10 at that time.

The NHL has postponed a number of games recently as a result of numerous players being put on the COVID Protocol List. On Tuesday, it was announced that the Buffalo Sabres would not play any games until Feb. 8 at the earliest, after facing the Devils in a back-to-back on Saturday and Sunday.

Two Sabres players, Taylor Hall and Rasmus Ristolainen, were subsequently added to the protocol list as well.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.