Hockey Hall of Fame announces no class will be named for 2021


The Hockey Hall of Fame announced Friday that it has postponed the induction of its 2020 class to next year and will not name a new class for 2021.

“The magic of the induction weekend from the perspective of the new inductees is participating in several days of close interaction with family, friends, former teammates, fellow legends and fans,” said Lanny McDonald, chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, in a press release.

“On that premise, the board felt that this was the right decision to bestow upon the class of 2020 the recognition and lifetime experience they so richly deserve in all ways consistent with past induction classes."

The move means Marian Hossa, Jarome Iginla, Kevin Lowe, Kim St-Pierre and Doug Wilson in the player category, and Ken Holland in the builder category, will have to wait until next year for their induction, while the fate of the 2021 class remains up in the air.

The decision was made at the Hockey Hall of Fame's board of directors meeting Thursday.

In August, the Hockey Hall of Fame postponed its 2020 induction weekend and celebration, originally scheduled for Nov. 16, until further notice due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.