NHL announces 31 team nominees for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Winnipeg Jets' Blake Wheeler, centre, celebrates his goal with teammates Mark Scheifele, left, and Josh Morrissey against the Vancouver Canucks, in Vancouver, B.C., Monday, March 22, 2021. (Darryl Dyck/CP)

The NHL announced the 31 team nominees for the 2020-21 King Clancy Memorial Trophy on Tuesday.

The trophy is awarded annually "to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community" and the nominees were selected by their respective NHL teams.

The nominees of the seven Canadian teams are: Mikael Backlund, Kyle Turris, Jonathan Drouin, Thomas Chabot, John Tavares, Tyler Motte and Blake Wheeler.

A committee of senior NHL executives led by commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly will use the below criteria to select the three finalists and eventual winner.

• Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
• Investment of time and resources
• Commitment to a particular cause or community
• Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
• Creativity of programming
• Use of influence; engagement of others

The winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy will receive a $25,000 donation to a charity of his choice while the runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.